The GST Council has constituted a Group of Ministers (GoM) for the Goods and Services Tax Appellate Tribunal. Chaired by Haryana Deputy Chief Minister Dushyant Chautala, the GoM will suggest required changes in the law for setting up the GST Council to ensure that legal provisions maintain the right federal balance and are in line with the objectives of uniform taxation within the country.


After consulting with legal experts while formulating its recommendations, the GoM will submit the report to the Council by July 31.


Apart from Chautala, Finance and Planning Minister of Andhra Pradesh Bugna Rajendranath, Transport and Industry Minister of Goa Mauvin Godinho, Finance and Parliamentary Affairs Minister of Uttar Pradesh Suresh Kumar Khanna, Finance and Parliamentary Affairs Minister of Odisha Niranjan Pujari are the other nominated members of the GoM.


As per reports, the GoM is likely to discuss concerns of states with regards to the Madras High Court Order which said that the number of technical members should not exceed the number of judicial members in the Goods and Services Tax Appellate Tribunal (GSTAT).


The GTSTAT had originally envisaged that the GTSAT would have one judicial member and two technical members (one each from the Centre and states).

Leave a Reply

instagram default popup image round
Follow Me
502k 100k 3 month ago